Struggling to drink enough water

Standard

So on my nutrition plan that I was given about a week ago, I was told I needed to drink a gallon of water a day.  That is a lot of water!  This past week, I have really been struggling to drink that much water.  Half the time I get so busy at work that I forget to drink water or all the water has me literally running out the door between periods to use the bathroom.  Drinking this much water and being a teacher doesn’t always mix.

Image

I try and at least drink the entire water bottle while I am at work.

These are the steps I have taken to remind myself to drink water:

-I have a glass of water while I cook my breakfast in the morning.

-I bring an 18 oz Brita Water Bottle to work along with a half gallon water bottle to work filled with water and ice.  When my smaller water bottle runs out, I refill it from the 1/2 gallon water bottle.  I can’t exactly be running to the water fountain with classes in session.

-I have an app on my Window’s phone that reminds me to have a glass of water through out the day.  The app is called water reminder and is free for Window’s phones.  This helps especially when things get a little crazy at work!  However, if my phone is no where near me I do not see the reminder on my phone.  Whomp.

-Once I get home, I always get myself a glass of water and keep refilling it through out the night.

I still feel like I am coming under my 1 gallon a day, but I am getting better with this.  The hardest part is ensuring I am drinking water all day at work, especially when things get a little crazy.

How do you ensure you drink enough water?

6 thoughts on “Struggling to drink enough water

  1. Amber, I would recommend eating fruit. Organic red or green grapes, mangoes, apples, kiwi, and more freshly bought every couple of days and eaten regularly and daily will give you slower release fluid with added electrolytes and nutrients, plus chemicals and compounds that probably have positive effects as yet undiscovered. When you do this, your water drinking becomes less burdensome, and less diluting. Train on, and as part of that, train yourself to eat, drink, and sleep wisely.

    • Mike I will keep that in mind! I definitely need to sleep more wisely. There is always so much to do, so I always end up going to bed way too late for someone who has to wake up so early for work!

      • It’s tempting to do it that way, but before midnight sleep is so effective, I’m much more efficient working in the early morning hours than the waning hours end-of-day. All the best in your own testing on that, and I hope you find the right hours for you.

  2. I don’t think I ever drink enough water. I try, but I struggle, especially at work. I have 3-4 hour shifts where there is no way I could go to the restroom so I tend to not drink then…

    • Bethany I hear you! As a teacher I cannot be running to use the bathroom unless there are no kids in my room. I don’t know what it is about water, but it seems to go right through me.

Leave a Reply

