Paleo for a day!

Standard

Happy Friday! Do you have any fun plans for the weekend? I am currently sitting at the airport waiting for my flight to New York. It should be a fun weekend with family celebrating my future sister in law’s impending marriage to my brother at her bridal shower and batchelorette party! The only sad part is that I had to leave my hubby at home for the weekend!

Today’s challenge for the #SummerRefresh nutrition challenge was to go Paleo for the day.  For those of you that are not familiar with the Paleo diet, it is also known as the “caveman diet” or going back to what our ancesters used to eat. Paleo is not really a diet.  It is more of a clean eating lifestyle that cuts out all grains, legumes, dairy, sugar, and processed foods.  People living the Paleo lifestyle stick to the basics of healthy fats, fruits, vegetables, and organic grass fed meats and fish.

I have never thought about eating the “Paleo way” until today.  I found this diet hard to stick to as an active person, because it includes no grains!   And I love my complex carbohydrates that I get from grains.  So, I have to admit I was not completely Paleo today.  I was about 90 percent paleo.  I had to have my post work out whey protein shake which is not paleo.  I also had a Quest protein bar as a snack later on in the day which is also not paleo.  However, Quest bars are one of the best and cleanest protein bars on the market today (Do I get any credit for that?).

I apologize for the no pictures, but I am traveling with the IPAD tonight, and I cannot seem to figure out how to get my pictures to upload to the IPAD (technology can be so much fun sometimes). So, I will have to just settle for a description of my meals! For breakfast I had a handful of cherries, 2 eggs over medium, and a paleo pumpkin muffin (check back later for a recipe)! Lunch was a spinach and basil salad with chicken, tomatoes, and onions. Dinner I ate a salad with chicken at the airport. I of course ordered my dressing on the side! Restaurants today seem to like to gorge your salad with dressing! Yes, I would like some salad with my dressing!

I felt really good today with lots of energy! When eating Paleo, you know you are eating the best foods for your body. I definitely will be including some paleo recipes into my diet in the future! If I ever go Paleo, I would have to do a modified version of the Paleo diet that includes some grains like buckwheat and quinoa! Including some grains would benefit my active lifestyle. I learned today in the Living plus hangout that many people do modified versions of the paleo diet that include some grains or some dairy. Since it is a lifestyle, the important thing is to find something that works for you!

Did you eat paleo today? What are your favorite paleo recipes?

2 thoughts on “Paleo for a day!

  1. Hi Ambie! Cool post… I’ve also been experimenting with diets lately. Yesterday I tried Palio and the day before I did Vegan. I think both have merit but I think what’s more important is the lack of processed foods. You can really feel the difference 🙂

Leave a Reply

