Thirsty Thursday

Standard

Today has been a rather quiet day.  I woke up sore all over from the past couple of days of weight lifting, so I decided that I needed a good stretch and attended yoga class this morning.  After yoga class, I felt a lot better soreness wise.  I still am not going to lift today to give my muscles a much needed break, but I may go down to the gym and do a little bit of cardio after dinner tonight.  Nothing too intense though.

Anyways, in honor of Thirsty Thursday for the #SummerRefresh challenge this afternoon I made my first attempt at a green smoothie.  I borrowed a recipe off of www.paleoplan.com, but I changed the recipe slightly.  You may want to add some protein powder to this shake, but this afternoon I decided not to because I was not that hungry.  Here was my concoction that I threw into a blender which made 2 servings:

  • 1 apple seeds and core removed
  • 1 pear seeds and core removed
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 2 tbsp flax seeds
  • 1 cup water
  • Juice of 1/2 of a lemon
  • 1/2 tsp coconut oil

So my smoothie ended up looking like this:

Image

Green Smoothie for the day

At first I was a little weary of this smoothie, because it was bright green!  Something about my food being bright green is a real turn off, but I gave it a try anyways.  I am glad I tried it, because I was pleasantly surprised!  The smoothie actually tasted really good.  The only thing I would change is that my smoothie was little warm for my tasting, so next time I may add some ice cubes to the blender.

How do you like your smoothie?  Do you have any fun plans for the upcoming weekend?

Leave a Reply

