You are Beautiful!

Standard

photo cred: http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m6oo8qDxug1qcqz5oo1_400.jpg

Today, I wanted to take a minute and draw attention to a serious topic- body image.  It seems today that the media has defined our definition of beautiful.  The media floods us with images every day of lean, skinny, tall, and tan models.  In fact we are flooded with so many images that define beauty that many people spend large amounts of money to obtain this ideal image.  Whatever happened to just being you but the best version of you that is fit, healthy, and beautiful?

The reason I am asking this question is because recently I found out a dear friend of mine, Bre, has struggled with anorexia nervosa in the past.  She is not alone in this struggle.  In fact, sadly today over 24 million people suffer from an eating disorder in the United States and only 35% of those people receive treatment for their disorder according to the National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders. 

Bre shared her journey with me through her blog which documents her road to recovery.  As I read her blog, I balled my eyes out.  I encourage you to take a stroll onto her blog and see her road to recovery and to share her blog with friends and family.  You can find her blog at www.hoperenewed.blogspot.com. 

I can honestly say she is an amazing person who inspires me, because the purpose of her blog is to help others by sharing her own journey.  I could not be more happy for her that she is now healthy, happy, and getting married to the love of her life this weekend! (Congratulations Dan and Bre!)  It took her a long time to get to this point. 

Bre is not the only one drawing attention through her blog to this issue in America.  Recently, companies like Dove (Dove Campaign for Real Beauty), Under Armour (What’s beautiful?), and Girls on The Run (A program that empowers girls live a happy and healthy lifestyle) have been fighting this unhealthy image of beauty in America with campaigns that focus on what beauty is.  Feel free to check them out at:

Dove: http://www.dove.us/social-mission/campaign-for-real-beauty.aspx

Under Armour: http://whatsbeautiful.ua.com/

Girls On The Run: http://www.girlsontherun.org/Who-We-Are/Our-Mission

So I ask you to remind yourself that you are beautiful today no matter what size you are, what your body shape is, or what the media defines as beautiful!

2 thoughts on “You are Beautiful!

    • Hi Tyler! I am so sorry this took me so long to find and respond! Word press seemed to think your kind words were spam! So glad I found your comment! Glad I could help. When I made this post and asked my friend Bre if it were okay to write this post, this is exactly what we wanted- to help others!

Leave a Reply

