Water 8×8

Standard

So today I challenged myself to get the recommended 64 oz of water a day.  In case your wondering that is 8 8 oz glasses of water or about eight water bottles a day.  Water is essential to life.  Your body is made up of 60% water, so it is important to always hydrate your body, because water has a variety of functions in our body including flushing your blood of toxins and carrying nutrients to your body.

So how did I approach the challenge?  I no longer buy plastic water bottles, because I go through them too fast and its too expensive.  So, this morning after my morning cup of coffee (I just cannot go without it at 4:45 in the morning), I filled up my Brita filter water bottle and hit the road.  I decided to use my Brita Filter water bottle, because it is easy to continually refill throughout the day and it holds about eight ounces of water.  By seven am I had finished water bottle number one, and I headed for a quick refill before my students started filing into class.  By second period I was on water bottle number three of eight, and I really had to pee.  The only downside to drinking so much water is the amount of times you have to use the bathroom, and teachers don’t always have the luxury of being able to use the bathroom in the middle of class (my poor bladder today).  Other than that though the challenge was going really well.  By the end of the school day I was on water bottle number five of eight, so I was in pretty good shape to have my eight water bottles by the end of the night.  I did not want to make the mistake of having to chug some water before I went to bed like the night before to have to wake up in the middle of the night to really have to pee!  Currently, I have two more water bottles to go and it is only 7 pm!  I definitely can get those in by bed time!

Here are some things I noticed throughout the day, though, besides the extra trips to bathroom.  I actually had more energy, and I noticed sometimes I thought I was hungry when I was actually thirsty.  Tonight I did some research and it is common to mistake thirst for hunger, because your body receives mixed signals due to dehydration (Livestrong.com).  Symptoms of dehydration include constipation, thirst, dry skin, a sluggish feeling, dizziness, dry eyes, and decreased urine output (Livestrong.com & MayoClinic.com).  So make sure you are getting enough H20!

  So if your going to get your 64 oz of water a day I would recommend using a refillable water bottle and be prepared for multiple bathroom trips!  You will be surprised at how much more energy you have when your body is fully hydrated!  Are you drinking enough water?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

